Simple Schooling Whales is an in-depth look at the world’s largest cetaceans!  In this unit study students will learn some basic characteristics that all whales share, and will then take a closer look at five species of toothed whales (orca, pilot whale, sperm whale, beluga, and narwhals) as well as six species of baleen whales (humpback, gray, blue, sei, minke, and right whales).  There are four sections, each with its own activities, so this unit can easily be broken down into several smaller units.  A certificate of completion can be printed at the end.

Click Here to access the WHALES Interactive Unit Study



Optional Resources

National Science Foundation

NOAA Whale Anatomy

American Museum of National History

Marine Biology